Security in the Face of Sudden Disaster

In recent days, my heart believes with certainty that sudden disaster and destruction are looming near, ready to strike me in my weakness and bring mourning to me and those I love. My dreams, once I am able to lull myself to sleep, have been filled with diagnoses with morbid odds, terrifying intruders threatening the lives of my students, and impossible decisions forced at the barrel of a gun. A cement-like weight at the base of my stomach accompanies my waking hours.

Are these dreams and anxieties reasonable?

Recent events say yes. There have been 8 shootings in my city over the past month or so, the most recent of which was a handful of blocks from our home and resulted in the death of a 22-year-old student of UMD. Based on all reports, an all-around good kid not so different from myself is dead because of a robbery or home invasion. It could have been me. It could have been my roommates.

On the news alongside the reports of the death of an innocent man are reports urging the public to be aware and safe. A man in a small community outside of Duluth approached two children one morning this week offering a ride to school. A situation that sends shivers down my spine to hear about, multiplied by the fact that these are my students. My heart has been gripped with worry for my kiddos and other children in the area, and my mind reels with the what-ifs.

The world says yes to fear and anxiety and panic in the face of tragedy. My brain succumbs to fear and anxiety in both sleep and wake.

Are these dreams and anxieties reasonable?

The Bible – the God-breathed Word of Life – says no.

In perfect timing, I stumbled across a passage in Proverbs as I was reading this morning.

You can go to bed without fear;

you will lie down and sleep soundly.

You need not be afraid of sudden disaster

or the destruction that comes upon the wicked,

for the Lord is your security.

Proverbs 3:24-26

I am oh so comforted by the promises the Lord Almighty has laid out for us. Promises He has never failed to stand by and promises He will always fulfill. In the face of sudden disaster, I rest in the security of God.

In coming days this passage will be one I hold close, drawing comfort and strength to battle fear and anxiety.

With love,

MyKayla Jean

One thought on “Security in the Face of Sudden Disaster

  1. Do you remember us talking about Psalm 46:10 a number of years ago? Jen and I love you! More importantly, your heavenly Father has you in His hands.

    Like

Leave a Reply

